Thursday 30 March 2017


Pub of the Year 2017 – Rugglestone Inn, Widecombe in the Moor

Runner Up - Tally Ho Littlehempston

Town Pub of the Year – Blue Anchor Teignmouth

Runner Up – Teign Cellars Newton Abbot

Country Pub of the Year - Rugglestone Inn Widecombe in the Moor

Runner Up – Tally Ho Littlehempston

Cider Pub of the Year – The Cider Bar Newton Abbot

Club of the Year – Shaldon Conservative Club – NEW AWARD

This is the first year that the South Devon Pub of the Year competition has been judged on two categories with runners up for each category.

1) Town

2) Country

There was then a further vote to determine the overall winner and The Rugglestone Inn emerged as our Pub of the Year with the Tally Ho in second place.

Our Pub of the Year the Grade 2 listed The Rugglestone Inn, a few minutes’ walk from the centre of the picturesque village of Widecombe in the Moor, has taken the coveted award for 2017 repeating its achievement of 2012.

The pub was judged primarily on the consistent quality of its ales, with factors such as Service, Welcome & Offering, Style/Décor/Furnishing & Cleanliness, Community Focus & Atmosphere, Alignment with CAMRA Principles and Overall Impression.

The picture shows Richard and Vicky Palmer receiving their award from our Chairman Bob Southwell on the 20th April.

Our Runner Up – Overall and in the Country Pub Category is The Tally Ho being the first community pub in South Devon having been ‘rescued’ by the community in 2014 when it was in danger of being sold for residential development. Since then the pub has built on its reputation for serving fine ales and was listed in the Good Beer in 2016. The landlord was delighted to receive the award from Branch Vice-Chairman and National Executive Member Ian Packham on 25th April

The Town Pub of the Year was the Blue Anchor in Teignmouth and when making the presentation to the Landlords on the 13th April Bob Southwell remarked that they have earned their reward by supplying the community with good beer, great beer festivals and good service. Luke and Adele have managed the pub for a couple of years now and are obviously enjoying their role.

The Town Pub of the Year Runner Up was Teign Cellars. Situated in East Street in Newton Abbot, Teign Cellars has been turned round from a pub that has failed several times to a thriving craft bar and gastro pub. The landlord Stuart O’Dell, an accomplished chef who has won CAMRA awards at all three of his previous pubs received his award from Bob Southwell on the 8th May.

The Inaugural Winner of Club of the Year is Shaldon Conservative Club and at the presentation on the 30th March Bob Southwell said that the club has a well-deserved reputation for delivering consistently good and varied beers. At the same time, a presentation was made to the retiring steward, Kevin Wilson to commemorate his retirement.