Pub Awards

Pub of the Year

Pub Awards

  • Champion Landlord and Landlady of the Rugglestone Tuesday 10 October 2017

    Landlord presentationThis is a new award made to landlords who have had a tenure of ten years or more and whose pub has been in the Good Beer Guide for the whole of that period.

    Richard and Vicki at the Rugglestone Inn, Widecombe-in-the-Moor have far exceeded the span of 10 years in the GBG.

    Landlord presentation night at the Rugglestone.This award was given to them on the 10th of October by Ian Packham, pictured left, ably assisted by many of the pub's local customers and by a minibus full of CAMRA members, pictured on the right enjoying the pub's excellent ales.

  • Champion Landlord presentation at the Exeter Inn, Ashburton Tuesday 10 October 2017

    Landlord presentationThis is a new award made to landlords who have a tenure of ten years or more and whose pub has been in the Good Beer Guide for the whole of that period.

    Ian Packham gave the award to Jim McNichol, the landlord of the Exeter Inn at Ashburton. It was well deserved as he has been at the pub for 31 years and has taken his pub into the GBG for the last 16 consecutive years.

    The presentation, pictured right, took place on Tuesday, 10th of October, 2017 in front of a large party of local CAMRA members and pub regulars.

  • More Honours for Cider Bar - Regional Cider Pub of the Year Tuesday 2 May 2017

    The Cider Bar, in East Street, Newton Abbot, has been named the Cider Pub of the Year by South Devon CAMRA, the local branch of The Campaign for Real Ale, which also promotes traditional ciders and berries.

    The bar sells about 30 different ciders, including about 12 ‘real’ ones, along with a couple of perries (fermented pear juice). Customers’ ceramic and pottery drinking pots are hung from above the bar, with the more favoured ones from the ceiling behind the bar.

    The ‘Cork Club’ has met every Sunday for hundreds of years, with photographs (formerly paintings) of their outings adorning the walls. The bar is the last remaining regularly open Cider House in the country (there is no licence for beer or spirits).

    Food is on offer is the traditional ham and cheese & onion rolls that have been served here for years.

    Presenting the award to owner Jonathan McCool, CAMRA chairman Bob Southwell praised the Cider Bar for being a ‘unique institution’ whose fame spreads well beyond South Devon.

    A further presentation was made to Richard Knibbs, the previous owner of the Ye Olde Cider Bar who, having taken over around 46 years ago made the Cider Bar into the institution that it has become today. He received a special CAMRA award for his lifelong devotion and commitment to cider.

  • SOUTH DEVON PUB AWARDS for 2017 Thursday 30 March 2017



    Runner Up - Tally Ho Littlehempston

    Town Pub of the Year – Blue Anchor Teignmouth

    Runner Up – Teign Cellars Newton Abbot

    Country Pub of the Year - Rugglestone Inn Widecombe in the Moor

    Runner Up – Tally Ho Littlehempston

    Cider Pub of the Year – The Cider Bar Newton Abbot

    Club of the Year – Shaldon Conservative Club – NEW AWARD

    This is the first year that the South Devon Pub of the Year competition has been judged on two categories with runners up for each category.

    1) Town

    2) Country

    There was then a further vote to determine the overall winner and The Rugglestone Inn emerged as our Pub of the Year with the Tally Ho in second place.

    Our Pub of the Year the Grade 2 listed The Rugglestone Inn, a few minutes’ walk from the centre of the picturesque village of Widecombe in the Moor, has taken the coveted award for 2017 repeating its achievement of 2012.

    The pub was judged primarily on the consistent quality of its ales, with factors such as Service, Welcome & Offering, Style/Décor/Furnishing & Cleanliness, Community Focus & Atmosphere, Alignment with CAMRA Principles and Overall Impression.

    The picture shows Richard and Vicky Palmer receiving their award from our Chairman Bob Southwell on the 20th April.

    Our Runner Up – Overall and in the Country Pub Category is The Tally Ho being the first community pub in South Devon having been ‘rescued’ by the community in 2014 when it was in danger of being sold for residential development. Since then the pub has built on its reputation for serving fine ales and was listed in the Good Beer in 2016. The landlord was delighted to receive the award from Branch Vice-Chairman and National Executive Member Ian Packham on 25th April

    The Town Pub of the Year was the Blue Anchor in Teignmouth and when making the presentation to the Landlords on the 13th April Bob Southwell remarked that they have earned their reward by supplying the community with good beer, great beer festivals and good service. Luke and Adele have managed the pub for a couple of years now and are obviously enjoying their role.

    The Town Pub of the Year Runner Up was Teign Cellars. Situated in East Street in Newton Abbot, Teign Cellars has been turned round from a pub that has failed several times to a thriving craft bar and gastro pub. The landlord Stuart O’Dell, an accomplished chef who has won CAMRA awards at all three of his previous pubs received his award from Bob Southwell on the 8th May.

    The Inaugural Winner of Club of the Year is Shaldon Conservative Club and at the presentation on the 30th March Bob Southwell said that the club has a well-deserved reputation for delivering consistently good and varied beers. At the same time, a presentation was made to the retiring steward, Kevin Wilson to commemorate his retirement.